2023 Eiffel scolarship

The 2023 campaign is now open !

 

Important: this year “The Eiffel scholarship is awarded for a maximum of 18 months in France for a 1st year thesis“. Applications for the Eiffel scholarship are therefore no longer possible for 2nd or 3rd year students.

Please refer to this page to get all information you need to apply.

We are available for any further information at boursefl.doctorat@ubfc.fr

European Erasmus+ programme

 

At the beginning of 2021, the European Commission granted UBFC the Erasmus + Charter for Higher Education for the period 2021-2027. By integrating this programme, UBFC aims to develop the international mobility of its students, professors and staff.

Thus, doctoral students and young doctors can engage in short or long periods of physical mobility: study, internship, training or teaching mobility (only for doctoral students hired by UBFC in the latter two cases).

You can find here the procedure to follow to apply : here

You can find here the form to fill in and send to erasmus@ubfc.fr : here

International thesis co-supervision

International thesis co-supervisions have a double objective: i) to enlarge the international scope and develop scientific cooperation between French and foreign research teams, and ii) to promote PhD students’ international mobility.

Within the framework of international thesis co-supervision,

  • you are registered with two universities: UBFC and the partner university
  • you are supervised by one thesis supervisor in each university
  • you alternatively stay in the two countries to do research work in the two universities
  • you defend your thesis only once
  • you graduate in the two universities

The terms and conditions of a thesis in co-supervision are detailed in a co-supervision agreement written by your two thesis supervisors who discuss about it and then submit it. Once the agreement has been validated by your doctoral school, it is signed by yourself, your thesis supervisors, the directors of the doctoral schools in the two institutions, the president of the partner university, the president of UBFC (the institution that will issue your diploma in France), and the president of the institution where you will prepare your thesis in France (UFC, uB, UTBM, ENSMM, or AgroSup Dijon).

The co-supervision agreement must be signed during the first year of the thesis.

 

European doctorate Label

Definition

The UBFC doctoral mission implements a “European doctorate” label to promote PhD student mobility.

The label had to be applied for before thesis defence; it is reserved to students from the 28 EU countries, and extended to the other free-exchange states (Switzerland, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein). It is not to be mistaken with the international thesis co-supervision procedure, but it can come in addition to it.

The “European doctorate” consists of a certificate added to the classical doctoral degree; it is issued by UBFC and signed by its president.

This label is issued when the PhD student meets the following four criteria:

  1. Prior to defence, the works will be examined by two reporter colleagues habilitated to direct research, belonging to two institutions other than the one in which the thesis will be defended, including at least one non-French European one. The reports will clearly mention that the research works can lead to issuance of a doctoral diploma, and arrive at the doctoral school four weeks before defence.
  2. The jury composition will be defined by regulatory texts, with at least one jury member belonging to a higher-education institution from a European state other than the one in which the thesis will be defended.
  3. At least part of defence will be done in a national European language other than the national language of the country where the thesis will be defended.
  4. The PhD student will have spent at least three months doing research in an EU member state.

Procedure

The full procedure is available here.

The application form is available in your ADUM personal space.

 

Conferences and seminars abroad

During your doctorate, you can attend conferences and seminars abroad and/or present your work there. To find out about events related to your research area, consult your thesis supervisor.

Cotutelle internationale de thèse

 

Les cotutelles internationales de thèse ont un double objectif : développer la dimension internationale et la coopération scientifique entre des équipes de recherche françaises et étrangères et favoriser la mobilité internationale des doctorants.

Dans le cadre d’une cotutelle internationale de thèse, vous :

  • êtes inscrit(e) dans deux universités : à UBFC et à l’université partenaire
  • êtes encadré(e) par un directeur de thèse dans chaque université
  • êtes amené(e) à faire des séjours de recherche dans les deux universités
  • soutenez une seule fois
  • êtes diplômé(e) des deux universités

Les modalités d’une thèse en cotutelle sont fixées dans une convention de cotutelle. Celle-ci est rédigée par vos deux directeurs de thèse, qui se concertent et proposent la convention. Une fois validée par votre école doctorale, elle est signée par vous-même, vos directeurs de thèse, les directeurs des écoles doctorales des deux établissements, le président de l’université partenaire, le président d’UBFC (en tant qu’établissement vous délivrant le diplôme côté français) et le président de l’établissement où vous préparez la thèse en France (UFC, uB, UTBM, ENSMM ou AgroSup Dijon).
La convention de cotutelle doit être signée pendant la première année de thèse.

 

Label doctorat européen

Définition

Afin d’encourager la mobilité des doctorants, la Mission Doctorale UBFC met en place le label « Doctorat européen ».
Le label se demande avant la soutenance de la thèse et est réservé aux étudiants originaires des 28 pays de l’Union européenne, étendu aux autres états de libre-échange (Suisse, Islande, Norvège, Liechtenstein). Il s’agit d’une qualification qui ne doit pas être confondue avec la procédure de conduite de thèse en cotutelle, mais à laquelle il peut s’ajouter.
Le « Doctorat européen » consiste en une attestation ajoutée au diplôme de doctorat classique, délivrée par UBFC et signée par son président.

Ce label est délivré lorsque l’étudiant a satisfait aux quatre critères suivants :

1. Préalablement à la soutenance, les travaux seront examinés par deux collègues rapporteurs, habilités à diriger des recherches, appartenant à deux établissements autres que celui dans lequel la thèse doit être soutenue, dont au moins un européen non français. Les rapports devront clairement mentionner que les travaux de recherche peuvent faire l’objet d’une délivrance de doctorat et parvenir à l’école doctorale quatre semaines avant la soutenance.

2. La composition du jury sera définie par les textes avec au moins un membre du jury appartenant à un établissement d’enseignement supérieur d’un Etat européen autre que celui dans lequel le doctorat est soutenu.

3. Une partie au moins de la soutenance doit être effectuée dans une langue nationale européenne autre que la langue nationale du pays où est soutenu le doctorat.

4. Le doctorant doit avoir effectué un séjour de recherche d’au moins trois mois dans un pays membre de l’Union européenne.

Procédure

La procédure complète est à consulter ici.
Le formulaire de candidature est disponible dans votre espace personnel ADUM.

 

Colloques et séminaires à l’étranger

Au cours de votre doctorat, vous pouvez assister à des colloques et séminaires à l’étranger et/ou y présenter vos travaux. Pour connaître les événements liés à votre domaine de recherche, consultez votre directeur de thèse.